Select Page

Track Cycling Results – 07 Dec 2010

BikeManawatu Track Cycling

Considering the less than stellar weather conditions with a fragrant easterly wind and a cool overcast sky the 23 riders entertained the chilled crowd with some close racing and some even closer finishes. The first race up was to set the scene with 12 green and enthusiastic riders staying in a tight bunch until the last 150 meters of their 6 lap warm up race with all riders making a charge from all parts of the track for the finish line. The eventual winner, Jordan Castle started the final 150 meters at the rear of the bunch with the only daylight available on the outside of the bunch and close to the fence, he rose from the seat and assumed the sprinters position and proceeded to take the longest way home around the entire field to pip Kelsi Eccles on the line with a blanket able to cover all starters. The rest of the programme had equally entertaining miss n’ out and handicap races. The night also had 5 riders attempt track records with two new records set over the flying 200m distance. Megan Blatchford smashed the senior woman’s mark by 1.58 seconds with a time of 13.86 seconds and Brent Zimmerman equally dominant in knocking 1.36 seconds from the masters 2 time.

The A and B grade miss n’ out race began with a field of 11 riders and on the completion of each lap the rider caught at the rear of the field is eliminated from the race until the field is reduced to four riders then it becomes a one lap race to the line. This race captivates the crowd as they can see riders making surges for the line when the riders can’t, as for safety reasons they must only look ahead and not behind, this results in riders thinking they are safe when only the chasing rider and the crowd can see how vulnerable they are to elimination. This goes on for each lap and only to be stopped by an all out four rider one lap dash for the line.

It is pleasing to see the riders improve in ability and fitness over this early stage of the season thanks in no small way to being able to compete every Tuesday night. The night was also marked by the recognition and farewell of Lachie Ferguson, acknowledging his rider of the night award for last week and wishing him well for his future in Rockhampton Australia. Lachie received the latest Kennet brothers cycling book ‘Louise Sutherland- Spinning the Globe”.

These are the results:

Rider of the night as selected by Denise Brown was Jordan Castle because of his gutsy efforts in all of his racing on the night including missing the track record in the 200m by only .09 seconds.

Under 15’s and Under 17 girls 6 laps

1st Jordan Castle

2nd Kelsi Eccles

3rd Campbell Stewart

4th Joshua Kendall


A and B Grade 7 laps

1st Megan Blatchford

2nd Steve Stannard

3rd Brent Zimmerman

4th Ross Castle

Under 15’s and Under 17 girls 2 lap handicap


Heat 1

1st Robert Stannard

2nd Micaela Drummond

3rd Ruby Perry

4th Brittany Ingram

Heat 2

1st Jordan Castle

2nd Liam Barber

3rd Elizabeth Stannard

4th Catherine Young

A and B grade Miss and Out

1st Jaycob Humphreys

2nd George Roberts

3rd Sean Whitehouse

4th Jonty Hapeta

200 metre flying time trials


Megan Blatchford 13.86 seconds (new record)

15.44 seconds (old record)

Brent Zimmerman 13.62 seconds (new record)

14.98 seconds (old record)

Kate Stewart 15.87 seconds

14.45 seconds (existing record)

Campbell Stewart 15.33 seconds

13.90 seconds (existing record)

Jordan Castle 13.99 seconds

13.09 seconds (existing record)

Under 15 and under 17 girls 3 lap scratch race

1st Kate Stewart

2nd Ruby Perry

3rd Kelsi Eccles

4th Michaela Drummond

Under 15 boys

1st Jordan Castle

2nd Campbell Stewart

3rd Joshua Kendall

4th Robert Stannard

A and B Grade 3 lap scratch race

1st Sean Whitehouse

2nd Megan Blatchford

3rd Mike McMinn






Under 15’s and under 17 girls 9 lap handicap race

1st Jordan Castle

2nd Campbell Stewart

3rd Kelsi Eccles

4th Kate Stewart

A & B Grade 18 lap Handicap

1st Steve Stannard

2nd Sean Whitehouse

3rd Megan Blatchford

4th Jaycob Humphreys