Select Page

PNBHS Riders Dominate Manawatu Schools Cycling Competition

PNBHS riders dominated the placings in the Manawatu Schools Cycling competition held on 30 June. Over 80 experienced and novice riders from the Manawatu and surrounding region’s schools participated in a 2.3km hill climb up Saddle Road, then took on a 10km individual time trial down Pohangina Valley Road. A challenging points race around the streets of Ashhurst concluded the event. The conditions were cold with a significant wind chill factor.

Cycling MSCC 2013 #438The U15 boys’ had a small field of three riders from Waiopehu, Freyberg and Fergus Bryan from PNBHS. Thomas Garbett from Waiopehu dominated all events whilst PNBHS rider Fergus Bryan finished second in all three races to take out the silver medal at the end of the day.


The U17 boys’ had huge competition with 24 riders setting off on the hill climb. Nate Levin showed his determination and strength to win the climb over Chris Denholm with Alex West close behind to take out the points for third. Campbell Stewart, Carne Groube and Josh Kendall were close behind them to take out the next three positions. The 10km time trial was contested into a head wind on the way out and a strong tail wind coming back meant that riders flew home. This saw Chris Denholm finish first, Alex West second and Campbell Stewart third. Also racing hard were Nate Levin, Josh Kendall and Hamish Mikkelsen. The points race concluded the day. By this time riders were feeling tired and this showed as no one was able to hang on to the fierce pace set by Campbell Stewart as he broke away from the group. Campbell took out first place, while Josh Kendall raced very hard to claim second and Carne Groube a determined third. Chris Denholm, Nate Levin and Robert Stannard raced strongly to take out the next three places.
Cycling MSCC 2013 #312The overall points for the U17 boys went to Chris Denholm who won the gold with Campbell Stewart taking silver and Nate Levin winning the bronze medal.

A field of 9 riders were entered in the U19 Men. Charles Salmon from Kapiti College was first in the hill climb with Andrew Bengston from PNBHS second and Lewis Bunker from Wanganui taking out third place. James Denholm raced hard to win the time trial over Charles Salmon with Andrew Bengston placing third. James Denholm continued to race competitively and won the 25minute Points Race. Charles Salmon was second and Shane Mihaere from Awatapu was third. Overall points gave Charles Salmon the gold medal with PNBHS riders James Denholm and Andrew Bengston taking out the silver and gold medals respectively.

This was a great lead up event to the upcoming North Island Secondary School’s Cycling Champs being held in Cambridge in the second week of July. PNBHS will be defending the Best Boys’ School trophy which they have held for the past two years.