Select Page


School Cycling Champs 2013This is the 3rd year Manawatu Schools Cycling Champs have been held in Ashhurst township and we saw another very successful day of cycle racing.

We had a great turn out of riders this year with 86 entries and the largest field of Intermediate aged school riders the champs have had to date.  We also had over a dozen riders from outside the Manawatu area come and compete which gave our riders some extra competition.

Three races were held throughout the day…the first a Hill Climb ITT, followed by a Flat ITT, and lastly a Criterium. 

For our newer riders this was their first time racing in a competitive cycling event and they all did themselves proud.  To do 3 cycling events in one day isn’t easy and they all gave it their best.

Our age group “Manawatu” Champions for 2013 are:

Year 7/8 Boys     Dineth Rajapakse (PNINS)

Year 7/8 Girls      Anna Robson (PNINS)

Under 15 Boys   Fergus Bryan (PNBHS)

Under 15 Girls    Libby Arbuckle (PNGHS)

Under 17 Boys   Chris Denholm (PNBHS)

Under 17 Girls    Michaela Drummond (PNGHS)

Under 19 Boys   James Denholm (PNBHS)

Under 19 Girls    Ruby Perry (PNGHS)

Manawatu School Cycling parents and all of the cyclists would like to send a huge thanks you to Adam Curry from Central Bicycle Studio.  His ongoing support and sponsorship of School Cycling is immense.  He and his partner Jemma put a huge amount of time into this event.  He provided sponsorship, drink bottles, gear checks at the Sunday School rides (and coffee for the cold parents) and Jemma who is a graphic designer redesigned fantastic new Certificates at no cost that were then presented to the place getters in each event.  Their commitment to School Cycling is greatly appreciated.

Thank you also to Tim Whitehouse, Steve Challies and Aaron Williamson our official commissaires.  You’re expertise is invaluable.  For our newest riders (and their parents) your presence allows them to get used to the protocols and rules that will be part of the up coming North Island and National School Cycling events.

Lastly to the parents who helped organised this whole event…John Arbuckle and John Stewart (Event Organisers), Ross Castle (Traffic Mgmnt and professional cone placer), Paul, Karma and Rebecca Kendall (our number crunchers) who organised all the start lists, competitor race numbers and then collated the results at the end of each event.  They also lugged their own photocopier over and printed out the new certificates and the end of the day.  To Jason and Ali Kinghorn (our food fairies) who worked all day in the hall kitchen preparing the fantastic afternoon tea thank you yet again for all your help. Katherine Stannard, Sam Simpson and Rebecca Allan (our gorgeous Time Keepers), Kate Arbuckle (Graphic Designer in training) who designed the Manawatu Schools Cycling Brochure and every other parent who helped with Marshalling, Holding, Photo taking, First Aid, helping Ross with Traffic Mgmnt thank you so much.  We have a fantastic group of parents and without your help at this event and at our weekend school rides these would not be able to take place.