Select Page

First day report from Club Road Nationals.

photo (5)George Hewitt made history today when he was the first ever para trike rider competing at the Club road nationals

Michaela Drummond competing in the under 17 girls time trial over a distance of 15km won the bronze medal in a time of 25mins 26 secs with the other Bike Manawatu riders in this age category Libby Arbuckle placing 6th and Emily Shearman in 12th.

In the under 19 girls Ruby Perry finished in 4th place in a time of 23.59 with Elizabeth Stannard finishing in 9th.

Barry Gilliland competed in the Masters 6 men and placed 5th in a time of 23mins 56 secs

In the under 17 boys Campbell Stewart won the gold in a time of 22mins 03 with Robert Stannard taking out the silver. Jacob Seivwright was placed 11th and Carne Groube 13th Mitchell Kinghorn 14th Chris Denholm 16th and Fergus Allan 22nd.

In the masters women 4 Megan Blatchford-Peck won the silver and in the masters women 3 Shaz Dagg was 6th with  Gabrielle Bahler winning a bronze medal in the masters women 1 age category.

In the masters men 4 category Nev Weir who jumped ship and was racing for Wellington Vets finished 5th

Finally with the under 19 boys Joel Yates finished 10th, Nate Levin 14th, Alex West 15th, George Roberts 21st, James Denholm 27th and Josh Kendall 34th.

Congratulations to all that competed and particularly to the medal winners.

Good luck for the road races over the next few days.