Select Page

Event Information


Track Sprint 200 metres (TS), maximum 50 points
Individual Pursuit 2000 metres (IP), maximum 50 points

DATE: Completed Saturday 28th March

START TIME Rescheduled to 10.00 AM (see above).
COURSE Feilding Velodrome, Johnson Park.
REGISTRATION Rescheduled, the day at track 9.45AM (see above).
ENTRY FEE $2.00.
ORGANISERS Ian Gray, ph 357 7953 (home) or Mike Keenan, ph 358 6318 (home).
NOTES a) Competitors in Track Sprint 200 metres will start at finish line and be signalled 2 laps to go and be timed over the last 200 metres.
b) The Individual Pursuit 2000 metres is 5 laps of track less 6.25 metres, competitors will be held for release start, a long warning whistle at 10 seconds to go will be followed be 2nd short whistle to start.
c) Time keeping for each event: 3 stop watches on each rider. If all watches agree this is the time, if 2 watches agree this is the time, if no watches agree middle watch is taken as time.


DATE: Completed Saturday 7th November 2015

Beautiful weather this Saturday got everyone blowing the cobwebs off their time trial shoes and coming down to Lockwood Loop for a blast! The wind, true to form, remained the main obstacle to record times – with a nasty headwind on the way out giving way to a roaring tailwind on the way home, with many juniors running out of either cogs or leg speed on the way back. Fastest time of the day over 15km was set by Stephen Snell in 22:40, while Alex West was fastest over 25km in a time of 33:51. A big thanks to all those who helped out, especially Steph Dench, Mike Groube, Graeme Ransom and Tim Lloyd.


Bike Manawatu is holding the Club Hill Climb Championships on Saturday 14th November 2015 from 1.30 PM with the course now up Valley Road.

This late change has had to be made because the Ashhurst – Saddle Road climb has about 1 km being reformed making it unsafe for a cycling event. Acting on club members warnings another inspection of the Saddle Road was made this week and the decision was made to move the event climbing up Valley Road Hill starting at 1.30 PM, i.e. same start time.

Event details and entry information:
• The Bike Manawatu Hill Climb Championships is open for all club grades championships from U13 up to and including Masters Grades, all club members are encouraged to enter. For Masters cyclists this is the last event in the 2015 Championships determining Masters Grades Hill Climb Champions, overall Masters Hill Climb Champions and the results contributing toward determining the Bike Manawatu Masters Champions for 2015.
• Non-members are also welcome to enter.
• An entry fee applies: club members $5.00 and non-members $10.00.
• Entry can be made via Bike Manawatu’s website and late entries made on event day together with registrations from 1.00pm at the start line.

The start will be on Pohangina Valley Road the top of Raumai Hill outside the woolshed where there is space to start the riders who will then proceed downhill past Waterford Café, turn left up Valley Road and finish at the top of the climb, a distance of about 3 km.

Club members in the Masters age groups who enter and complete the Hill Climb will have their results used determine the Masters Grades Hill Climb winners for female and male. The results also are used to determine the club’s Overall Hill Climb Champions.

The Hill Climb results, along with the earlier 2015 results for Masters Track and Individual Time Trial (ITT) will be used to determine Overall Masters Champions (female & male) for 2015.

For more information on the Hill Climb you can phone Ian Gray 3577953 or Mike Keenan 3586318