Select Page

Event Information

On Sunday June 15th the Manawatu School Cycling Champs will be held in and around Ashhurst.

The Events

There are 3 events and participants are encouraged to enter all 3.

  • 3km hill climb time trial riding up Saddle Rd starting just before the bridge over the Pohangina River. Click here for map
  • 10km individual time trial starting on Cambridge Ave in Ashhurst and heading out on Pohangina Rd for 5km and returning. Click here for map 
  • Points race around the streets of Ashhurst. Click here for map


Event Schedule

8.00am Registration at Ashhurst School Hall

8.35am Event Briefing (ALL participants must attend)

9.00am Hill Climb Individual Time trial 3km

11.00am Individual Time trial 10km

2.00pm Points race (number of laps depends on age group)

4.00pm Afternoon tea at Ashhurst School Hall

4.30pm Prizegiving at Ashhurst School Hall



Age is based on age at 31 December 2014. Year 7/8, under 15, under 17 and under 20.

NO carbon or composite wheels . Only standard one piece drop handle bars are to be used. 

NZ School Cycling Assn rules apply to this event. For more information please see here or contact Mike Simpson or Glenys (Contact details below)

Maximum gearing of 7.93 metres rollout applies for under 19 or 6.61 metres rollout applies to all Junior Under 17 racing. A maximum gearing of 6.61 metres rollout applies to all Junior Under 15 racing.

Helmets used in road events must comply with NZ Traffic Regulations and be Standards approved.

School colours must be worn.


Participants need to be present at prizegiving to collect prizes and wearing full school cycling uniform.

Click here for a full copy of the rules associated to this event. 



Each rider will be provided with a transponder. This must be returned at the end of the individual time trial.


Age Groups

Year 7/8, under 15, under 17, under 20 (boys and girls)


Entries Close

5pm Wednesday 11th June 2014

Late entries and entries on the day will not be accepted.

Sorry NO refunds


Yr 7/8 Trophy

The van Wagtendonk trophy will be awarded to the school with the most points for year 7/8 participants. Points are awarded to participants as well as to place getters in each event.



Afternoon tea will be provided in Ashhurst hall prior to prizegiving. 


Contact details

Mike Simpson            06 326 9559 or 027 505 8458    

Glenys Taylor                     06 328 9862