Select Page

End of year prizegiving 2012

The announcement of the date for the prizegiving and social function had been well advertised even to the point of being included in the hard copy newsletter that went out at the beginning of November.

Unfortunately it is a busy time of the year and Bike NZ did plan a couple of weeks ago the training camp for the Junior Development Squad.

Fortunately our guest presenter was able to spare a short time in his busy schedule to spread some joy and laughter with the small gathering at the Marist Clubrooms. Unfortunately he did get one thing wrong. It must have been the bad cell phone reception that Glenys has at her house that led Santa to think that he was presenting prizes to a couple of blokes who rode bikes. He had thought Glenys had said “come to present prizes to a Bike Man or Two”

Audience participation was called for when the Oxford Dictionary was pulled from Santas sack along with the Nice Book and Naughty Book. The Oxford dictionary has listed the word after SWEEP and before SWELL is SWEET.

Not being rude at all but Santa decided that as he didn’t have a chair to sit on recipients of awards would just get a hug when they were having their photos taken rather than the normal pose with Santa. Only one person frayed from the required hug when he produced his own chair at the front and roles were reversed for the sitting order.

With plenty of HO HO HO’s and tales of GRUMPY is a dwarf and is friends with SLEEPY, DOC, DOPEY, SNEEZY ETC, the night past quickly and awards accepted.

For those that were not present to receive their awards and did not have any one receive them on their behalf they have been returned to the cupboard for presentation next year. Prizemoney has been returned to the prize pool for next year also.

Below is the list of Awards


Prizegiving 2012

Hill Climb Champs

This year with the Gorge being reopened  the champs were held up Saddle Rd on Saturday 1st December

Men                      Matiu Kaihau                     13:42                                     Hill climb champ trophy

Women               Michaela Drummond     18:02                                     Womens triers cup 

U17                        Campbell Stewart            14:31                                     U17 hill climb trophy 


Trophee de Grimpeur                  

The Trophee de Grimpeur is the race to determine who the best climbers are. In this years  race  the riders went out and back to Highland home or the DOC station from Ashhurst with the finish up Valley Rd.   

                B grade                 Cameron Huston              certificate           

                A grade                                Luuk van Wagtendonk   certificate           


Club Time Trial Champs were held at Rongotea earlier in the year and medals were awarded at the AGM.

Cups will be presented tonight 

U23/Senior / Masters 1(40Km)   Matiu Kaihau                    50.56     Wilson and Beach cup-open individual TT 

Vet Men (25 Km)                             Tom Pirie                             38.31     Pirie Family Cup – 1st Vet Men 

U19 Men (25 Km)                             Jaycob Humphreys          38.58

U17 Boys (15 Km)                             Hayden Washington-Smith  26.25  Bloomfield challenge Cup (U17 TT) 

U15 Boys (15Km)                              Chris Denholm                  25.38     Watts cup (1st U15 rider)

Vet Women (20 Km)                      Jocelyn Goodwin             41.50     Pirie Family Cup –  1st Vet Women

U19 & U23 Women 20km             Rachel Southee                41.33

U17 Girls                                             Ruby Perry                          27.01

U15 Girls                                             Libby Arbuckle                  30.27


Club Road Race Champs                            This year it was raced again on the Hiwinui – Colyton loop and medals were presented at the April prizegiving. Cups are to be presented tonight.     

(4 laps)

U19 men                                              Jonty Hapeta                                                     Ian Little Wheel (1st U19 rider) 

U23/Senior                                         Max Annear-Henderson               2:03:10                  Toon challenge shield

Masters1                                             Mark     Waterland                           2:04:28                 

(2 laps)

Masters Men 3                                 Paul Deuritz                                        1:05:10

Masters Men 4                                 Steve Glasgow                                  1:05:17

Master s Men 5                                 Brent Ellery                                        1:05:25

U17 Boys (3 laps)                             Jordan Castle                                     1:34:25                  Broadway cup (1st U17 rider)

U15 Boys (2 laps)                             Campbell Stewart                            1:04:45                  Bate cup (1st U15 rider)


U19 Women (3 laps)                      Kelsi Eccles                                          2:01:03 

Master Women (2 laps)                Megan Blatchford                            1:05:29                  David Black Memorial Vet Wome

U17 Girls (2 laps)                             Kate Stewart                                      1:05:15                  Morris Family Novice Road

U15 Girls (2 laps)                             Michaela Drummond                     1:05:15                  David Black Memorial B Novice


Thank you to the helpers and to everyone who has marshalled or been a timekeeper or recorded results at a club event. Without your help the events wouldn’t happen.


Woolworths Cup                              Graded handicap Pahiatua                                           Toshiaki Yamauchi

Essex Cup                                            Ashhurst – Pohangina – Totara Res over metal     Robert Stannard

Sutton Cup                                         Graded handicap Ashhurst  40 km                            John Stewart

Sprint Cup                                           Not Awarded in 2012

Cheltenham Cup                                                                                                                              Kim Andersen


This year the following members have all competed at international events and it is fitting that we acknowledge not only their selection to represent NZ at their age level but also their hard work that got them to where they are now. Jesse Sergent, Simon van Velthooven, Jordan Castle, Mark Findlay, Kate Stewart,                       



Croad challenge trophy                (best U15 rider)                                                Michaela Drummond / Campbell Stewart

Baker Family Trophy                      (best U17 rider)                                                                Kate Stewart

PNMCC trophy                                  (best U19 rider)                                                                Jonty Hapeta

Ooteman Cup                                    (most improved female rider over 23)    Kim Andersen

Bill Love Memorial Cup                (Most improved female cyclist u23)          Lizzie Stannard

Theo de Cuff Memorial shield   (administrator of yr)                                       Paul van Velthooven

Fowler Cup                                         (most improved male rider u 23)               Chris Denholm

Ooteman Cup                                    (most improved male  rider over 23)       Ross Rainham