Select Page

BikeManawatu riders win Secondary School Sports awards

The Manawatu Secondary School Sports awards were held at the Awapuni Racecourse on Wednesday evening.

BikeManawatu had many finalists in the cycling and triathlon categories including:

  • Emily Shearman
  • Libby Arbuckle
  • Campbell Stewart (Male Cycling code award winner)
  • Robert Stannard (Male Road cycling code award winner)
  • Michaela Drummond (Female Cycling code award winner)
  • Carne Groube 
  • David Martin (Triathlon)
  • Lizzie Stannard (Triathlon)
  • Jaimee Leader (Triathlon & Aquathlon)
  • Mitchell Kinghorn

It was a great end to the night for BikeManawatu, with Michaela Drummond (PNGHS) claiming the overall Sports Women of the year after her outstanding year, with her highlight being crowned a world champion in the Team Pursuit and Claiming the World Record at the 2015 Junior World Championships in Kazakhstan. Michaela was also awarded the sports Dux at her school prizegiving at the regent on the same evening.

Campbell Stewart (PNBHS), brought home the Sports Man of the year, with his year highlight being winning the Scratch race and Omnium at the 2015 Junior World Track Championships, also in Astana.

Lizzie and Jaimee further showed the clubs dominance at the school level, claiming major awards alongside Michaela at the PNGHS Sports Prizegiving. Lizzie won Academic and sporting excellence and Jaimee allround sportswomen.

Congratulations to all of our BikeManawatu riders.