Teams from two Manawatu schools beat all other schools to win the two school categories for 4 person 160km relay in perfect weather conditions on Saturday riding around lake Taupo.

Repeating last years intermediate school grade (year 7-8 kids) TASC Force from Ashhurst School won their category in a time only 17 seconds slower than last years winning team. Had it not been a 10 minute delay caused by a flat tyre for Michaela Drummond on leg two they would have improved their overall 8th position by several places.

Matiu Kaihau might have more than schoolwork on his mind this week.

The Palmerston North Boys' High School student will sit his NCEA Level Two exams, but he will also have an eye on the Oceania Track Cycling Championships in Adelaide next week.Matiu Kaihau For the full story go to Manawatu Standard

Newly-appointed Bike Manawatu chairman Paul van Velthooven says the merger of the three major clubs in the region will enable them to grow the sport. For the whole story go to Manawatu Standard

Megan Blatchford

At the 2010 Awards Evening held on Friday November 12 in the Silks Lounge at the Awapuni Function Centre Megan Blatchford was awarded the  masters athlete of the year title. There were two other cycling finalist Jesse Sergent in the sportsperson of the year category and Tom Findlay in the junior sportsperson of the year categorie.  Congratualtions!


Riding the Tour de Manawatu?

From Benji Hall at BikeNZ…

RideStrong Ranking Series

Become a Ranked Recreational Rider, and be in to win a Tour de France Experience!

The 116km Tour de Manawatu Cycle Challenge is part of the 2010/11 RaboDirect RideStrong Ranking Series. Just like a golf handicap, this is a nationwide series and ranking specifically for recreational riders.