Manfield 6Hour Challenge wrap-up

140 001140 001The 2015 Manfeild 6Hour Challenge was a great success.

Final results and photos are now available .

This years 6 hour Challenge offered several new categories including Schools, Universities, Workplace, Armed Forces, Bike Clubs, Services Clubs, Solos, Mixed social, Female social, Male social Challenges, with more teams from outside our region participating this year, including People from the Wairarapa, Wanganui and the Hawkes bay.

Our major Sponsors included Destination Manawatu, Martin Beveridge, Pedal pushers, Hotel Coachman, Central Bike Studio, AFC Motorcycles, AEC, CEC Marketing,The Hits, PN Rescue Helicopter, Mike Christie Sheetmetals, Soskeys Café, Toyota NZ, Higgins, Avanti Outlet, Proegear and Palmfeild Mts.
The major prize winners this year :
Team with most laps: ‘Do u even Klimbe’ Alex West, Nate Levin
Team With fastest lap: ‘Team Cervelo’ Campbell Stuart, David Martin, Jacob Sievwright
Female Team most laps: ‘Compact Crankers’ Kirstin Goodin, Lesley Mouat
Solo Male most laps: George Roberts
Solo Female most laps: Hayley Giddons

In Honor of the late Jocelyn Goodwin, who competed in this event in 2013 and won the most laps for a women's team, a Trophy aptly named ‘The Jocelyn Goodwin Memorial Trophy’ was awarded to this years winning women's team, the ‘Compact Crankers’.

Read more: Manfield 6Hour Challenge wrap-up

Akers Rd Club Race

Last Saturday was the first of the year’s club road races; a graded scratch race held at Akers Rd.
Conditions were excellent for racing, not being too windy or too hot on a flat, sometime exposed course.
The A grade field, though small completed each of their 7 km laps at over 40 km per hour, Robert Stannard winning in a sprint from Nate Levin. James Denholm was third. A combined B and C grade was the race of the day, with the various attacks coming to nought and a sprint finish resulted. Dale Nicholls was the winner, with a dead-heat for second between Fergus Washington-Smith and Thomas Stannard. In D grade, and impressive and comprehensive solo win by young Sam Perry meant that he’ll be riding C grade next time! Second and third were Kyra Craine and James Gardiner respectively. It was great to see some new young club members out there racing.

Next road race is the club championships time trial at Kairanga on the morning of Sunday 29th. Helpers are desperately needed on the day. If you can assist, please email Steve Stannard at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

La Femme 2015

LaFemme 2015LaFemme 2015This years La Femme fun ride offered ladies 60, 44 and 20 k, as well as a 20 k specifically for families, and a 60 k 3 person Accumulator event, designed to give any age and ability a challenge with no pressure on beginners.
All events went very well, with some of last years participants turning up for this years event.
We had very positive feedback from various participants who praised some of our local ladies for helping them to complete the ride. Riders from Hawkes Bay, Whanganui, and Otaki took part this year also.
We enjoyed a picnic atmosphere after the ride with a light lunch supplied by Sport Manawatu , a sausage sizzle and lollies for the kids.

Churchyard Physiotherapy was our major sponsor again this year giving a Voucher to the value of $350 which was won by Vicki Carne.

Read more: La Femme 2015

Final Time Trial Results

Well, the final night of the Spring Time Trial Series was a lesson in the benefits of not turning up on the fastest night of the season! The only people to improve their times were those NOT racing last week. Even the ever-consistent Barry Gilliland did not manage a final 2 point week, finishing 12 seconds outside his previous best time.

So, in farewell for now, a big shout out to The Time Trial Team of Trusty Volunteers, who helped out each week and know their jobs better than I do. Plus our first time turn-around man, who managed to find the turn-around sight unseen and get everyone around safely. Another shout out to Manawatu Triathlon Club, who consistently provided a share of riders each week, with a standing ovation for their dedicated president, Dave Scott, who turned up this week despite competing in the Taupo Iron Man Triathlon on Saturday. Many of the younger riders know exactly how he felt having themselves competed in the InterSchool Triathlon earlier today.

Read more: Final Time Trial Results

Wednesday Night TT 4th March

A warm and calm evening was the catalyst for another good turnout at the Wed night TT series at Kairanga. Again, fast times and some PBs were the order of the day.

Fastest time went to Alex West, at 15:31, followed by the usual suspects (Robert and Nate). Ross Rainham cracked 17 min for the first time, showing many of the youngsters how to ride a TT. Other rides of note were Lilly Lopez Lozano, who rode her best time by 3 min; Fergus Lloyd (2 min quicker) ; Nick Tuck (50 seconds); Michael Richmond (around 2:30), Rhys Ransom (over 4 min!); Kyra Craine (90 sec); while both Fergus’s (Allan and Washington Smith) had PBs, as did many others.

Next week is the last week and point will still count. Prizes ($$$) will be handed out at the AGM/Track Prizegiving Night on Wed 25th March.


Results Here